top of page

Journal 1

Journal 1

“Opposition brings concord: Out of discord comes the fairest harmony.”~ Heraclitus

Heraclitus was from Ephesus, which was ruled by the Persians at the time. He

is self taught, and is always judged by commentators for being a process philosopher.

He was very controversial to those around him. Over the centuries he's been more

and more understood by society, resulting in more appreciation for his work. He

usually broke out of traditional methods and created his own methods of things. This

is usually known as chaos. He was straying away from what was known as "order."

This quote relates to his life because out of disorder comes order. Sometimes

doing something isn't the fastest or most orderly way. Sometimes it takes a little

effort to stray away from "order" to create disorder. Sometimes disorder actually

becomes order. These two work together in harmony, making people strive for the

best possible solution. Heraclitus set this example for those who always followed the

same path. If no one strayed from the path then the world would be very black and

white. No one would be an individual.

In math I don't always follow exactly what people tell me to do. I find their

order more difficult for me. So instead I find my own order, to others it doesn't make

sense, it seems like too much effort to have all that disorder. I like my disorder and it

gives me an easier path to success. Although all of my math teachers judge me and

mark my tests wrong for not following their methods, I get the right answers in the

end. So in my opinion, I like disorder. Even if it's not my own. It shows individuality

and it makes the world more colorful and adventurous.

Works Cited

Graham, Daniel. "Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy." Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Web. 14 Dec. 2015.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page