top of page

Journal 3

"Justice is the insurance which we have on our lives and property. Obedience is the

premium which we pay for it." -William Penn

William Penn was born October 14, 1664 and died July 30, 1718. He founded what is

now formally known as Pennsylvania. He inspired some of the democratic principles in the

Constitution, and he published a plan for a United States of Europe. Since he was British he

wasn't a true American citizen. So Ronald Reagan declared William an honorary American

citizen.

"Insurance" means that an arrangement provides a form of compensation. When our

lives are threatened, Justice is served to protect that. But in order to pay for justice we must be

good and just people. For example, if a liar always caused trouble and made people not trust

them. Then when time came around that they needed help, then no one will want to defend

them. In order to get help, one must be a good person. William Penn was a person of politics.

He preferred justice and insurance. He founded and owned Pennsylvania, and in order to insure

his land he must be just.

There was one time in middle school where I was suspected of cheating on a quiz. I was

a really bad kid in middle school, and I always broke the rules and got in trouble. I have never

cheated on a quiz, but the teacher had to good experience with me to believe that. I was also

bad at home, I talked back and I always lied. So when I tried to explain to my parents that I was

caught cheating, but I was falsely accused they just got upset and sent me to my room and

grounded me. So on top of that I also got detention for cheating. From then on I changed and I

stopped lying, and I became a more trustworthy and good person.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page