top of page

Literacy Narrative

As a child I wasn’t much into reading. My mom liked to read to me, she’d read me children’s books. I wasn’t into Harry Potter, or Goosebumps. I preferred playing outside or playing video games. Which required a bit of reading. I didn’t really take much interest in reading until middle school, when the Twilight Saga came out. I went through a phase where I loved angst vampires and werewolves. That summer after finishing that book series, I went to the library in search for a new interest. I was working at an airmen’s club, and for the first few weeks I wasn’t doing much. I cleaned and served sodas, but during my free time I just sat around and watched whatever was on the TV. So instead I sat in the reclining chairs and read my heart out. Until much later I learned that I could play the video games in the corner. That’s when my love for video games grew.

In school I didn’t like reading chapters. I usually skimmed through my homework’s and I just paraphrased my notes. I become bored when I have to read something so dry. Even if I could go onto the online textbook and listen I still couldn’t find motivation to really read the chapters word for word. It’s the same with audio books. The voices put me to sleep. The narrators always sound so monotone and emotionless. It reminds me of bad movies with a terrible plot.

Reading in middle and high school was pretty important. Without it, I wouldn’t have good grammar. I can read pretty fast and I’m pretty good at cranking out essays with ease. I never stress over papers because I normally feel very confident with how I type. It’s like puking my thoughts on paper.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page